United States Minor Outlying Islands

Information for Patients
The United States Minor Outlying Islands is a statistical grouping of eight islands that come under the sovereignty of the United States. Seven of these islands are in the Pacific Ocean (Baker Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Johnston Atoll, Kingman Reef, Midway Atoll, Palmyra Atoll, and Wake Island) and one is in the Caribbean Sea (Navassa Island). As of 2019, none of the islands have any permanent residents. The only human population consists of temporarily stationed scientific and military personnel. 

Hence, there is no healthcare provision in terms of hospitals or heath care centres on any of these islands. Individuals posted on the islands must travel to the mainland to access health services. 

Information for Travelers 
Most of the islands in the U.S. Minor Outlying Islands are closed to the public—visitors to islands such as Jarvis Island need a permit; Palmyra Atoll is open to the public but public access is self-limiting. With prior approval by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Services, privately owned vessels are permitted access to the atoll for up to 7 days to see and enjoy the natural resources of the refuge. However, it is not easy to reach the remote island. The Nature Conservancy owns and operates the only airplane runway on Palmyra and by boat, it is a 5-7 days sailing trip from Honolulu.

Link to U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: https://www.hhs.gov/
Link to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: https://www.cdc.gov/